Members and Board of Trustees

Ms Michelle Currie - Chief Executive

Michelle Currie has over 30 years’ experience of working in education, including 18 years at senior management level.  As a National Leader of Education she is well versed in school improvement and has chaired the IEB of a school in Special Measures.  Michelle Currie is a former Ofsted inspector, having inspected schools across England under both the Section 10 and Section 5 frameworks.  She has held leadership positions in schools around the country including Walsall, Kent and Hastings and has led the setting up of new schools overseeing a number of multi-million pound building projects.  Michelle Currie has extensive experience of school governance, having served on four governing bodies in both the primary and secondary sectors.

Mr Jim Hudson OBE  – Member

Jim's career has included being Head of Two Mile Ash school (where he received his OBE for services to Education) and Director of Education at both the Cognita and Minerva Independent School Groups.

He has also been an Advisor to OFSTED, the National College for School Leadership, and the Teacher Training Agency.  He founded NASBTT (The National Association of School Based Teacher Trainers) and was Chairman of OSCITT (the Outstanding Schools School-Centred Initial Teacher Training Consortium)


Mr Richard Smith – Member

Richard Smith is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years’ experience of guiding businesses through challenging environments. His responsibilities have included finance and accounting, human resources, IT, facilities management and pensions. He is currently Chief Financial Officer of ONI plc an IT Services company specialising in managing critical IT infrastructure for the Defence, Public and Financial Services Sectors. Richard graduated from the University of Birmingham with a BSc (Hons) in Mathematical Sciences.

Mr Kevin Gowans – Trustee

Kevin Gowans holds a BSc (Hons) in Applied Geography and currently works at The Open University.  In the near 30 years working at the University, Kevin has undertaken a diverse range of roles including academic, management and production activities.  Currently he is module chair for a post-graduate course on Technology Strategy and project manager for a major development, amongst other responsibilities, within the Faculty of Mathematics, Computing and Technology.


Mr Simon Haddy - Trustee

Simon Haddy has a degree in Quantity Surveying and is a fellow of the Institute of Leadership & Management and a member of the Chartered Institute of Building.  Simon had a 20 year career spanning commercial, operational, procurement and leadership roles, predominantly in construction, and has worked both in the UK and Europe.  Having gained senior leadership experience with a large UK Plc contractor, Simon expanded his knowledge to other leadership disciplines outside of construction, including roles as a Sales Director and European Procurement Lead for an international manufacturer.  His current role is Managing Director of a construction firm local to Milton Keynes.

Mrs Jane Edwards - Trustee

Jane Edwards has worked in education for over 20 years, 13 years of these years at senior leadership level in primary, infant and junior schools.  She is a Local Leader of Education and has successfully supported schools in challenging circumstances to improve outcomes for pupils.  Jane Edwards has worked with the Restorative Foundation to support the implementation of restorative principles in schools and has been a member of the management committee for the Primary Pupil Referral Unit.  Jane Edwards has worked closely with two Milton Keynes Children’s Centres and chaired the management Committee of Conniburrow Children’s Centre in Milton Keynes which was fundamental in developing and implementing early intervention strategies for local families in a very deprived area.

Ayser Asif - Trustee and Chair of QPO Committee

Ayser has worked in central government since 2001 in a number of operational, technology, management and leadership roles both in the UK and overseas serving as a Crown Servant.

He is a member and volunteer at the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and a certified risk practitioner. He has experience with service and contract management, project and programme, risk management, strategy and engineering disciplines. Ayser is currently Chair of Walton High Local Governing Body.

Justine Ives - Trustee

Justine is Chair of Kents Hill school and a Leader of Projects and Place at Bedford Borough Council.

Robert Duff - Chair of MKET, Trustee and Chair of PFF Committee

Rob is and has been the owner and Director of risk financing and fundraising organisations. Between 2013 and 2017 he was Chair of MKET and of Walton High Local Governing Body.

Chris Wigglesworth - Member